“Well, that’s your opinion, isn’t it? And I’m not about to waste my time trying to change it.” ― Lady Gaga

Who would have ever thought I would quote Lady G? I never thought I would, but this is a very appropriate quote for what this blog is going to contain. Warning: the majority of this blog is going to be a rant.

In block today, we had some great conversations and presentations. Overall, the class was pretty great. However, (you knew it was coming) we ended the class with a discussion about women in the Military. One lady in the class said some things that really made me angry. Picking two that most fired me up: “Do we want the Military to win?! We can’t have women in there if we do.” and “A girl can’t carry all that heavy equipment and wear a helmet.” I know I probably shouldn’t be writing like this when I am upset, but gosh dang it! My very best friend from high school is a Marine. She as been active and is actually on an 18-month tour right now. I see her once a year, maybe. I do not believe she is making the Military lose by serving. She is clearly capable and actually does all the hard work that this one girl claims to be impossible. Women have been warriors for thousands of years.

 This is a picture representation of Hervor. Hervor comes from the legend of a Viking warrior woman who followed in her ferocious father’s footsteps and lead other Vikings into battle, raided villages, and the like. 

Oh and another lovely quote from this lady, “Women are wimps.” —Excuse me?! I could spend the rest of my blog explaining how that is not true, but as the cliche goes, that would be preaching to the choir. (I think anyways.) So, now I am torn about what to do in this situation. Do I wipe her slate clean with me? Do I file her under “the people I don’t like” section? I feel very strongly about this subject. Also, I wasn’t sure I liked her before this incident, but my opinion of her confirmed my distaste for her.

What about if this situation occurs in my classroom? Realistically, I am sure I will not allow a situation to get this heated, but the possibility is still there. I need to figure out a way to make sure I don’t let things like this get me down or ruin classes for the rest of my students. Honestly, I am a little concerned about how much this minor incident affected the rest of my day.  Another thing on my list to improve myself is to control and deal with reactions I have.

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on ““Well, that’s your opinion, isn’t it? And I’m not about to waste my time trying to change it.” ― Lady Gaga

  1. I would also be interested to know what other teachers do in this situation. You should wipe the slate clean but, man, that is challenging! Furthermore, what if this person ends up being a colleague? Should you wipe the slate with them? What if the disagreement was over something pivotal in education?

    1. I think I am going to try to wipe the slate clean. It’s just difficult, like you said. Excellent point about if someone like this were to become a colleague and we were to disagree about something crucial to education that might affect our students. In the famous words of Pooh-Bear (now on Netflix), “Oh, Bother.”

  2. Oh Rebs. This is a great blog! I’m glad you blogged about it. The whole time I was reading it I was thinking “what if I have a student like she-who-shall-not-be-named?” And then you asked it!

    I agree with you that wiping the slate clean is the best option. Plus, it’s good practice for the little butt holes we don’t like in our classrooms!

  3. I was observing a class when the teacher let a student get away with saying women are asking for rape… just because we’re women. It bothered me a lot. It still bothers me. I don’t think I’d ever just let something like that go by in my classroom unmoderated. I’d try and open it up to some other opinions. I was actually asking some science teachers about what they do with heated discussions and sensitive topics (aka evolution). They said they work to foster an environment where you can say anything without risk of being put down and laughed at, but that you have to be appropriate and respectful. I think sometimes it’s best to agree to disagree and let it go, but I think sometimes it’s interesting to see where other people in your class might take it. Who would speak up? How do you have a debate without it being a fight to the death? What about recommending books to that person about women who have helped win wars? How do we subtly go about fighting ignorance?

Leave a Reply

