1980’s Style Classroom Management- An Explanation?

Tuesday, I was digging around in the “Free Books” book case and I found a gem [!] of a book on classroom management. 

Here’s a picture of the cover:

 

Image

Let’s begin by analyzing the title of this book: You Can Handle Them All. In the 1980’s, when this book’s copyright is, the professional development books consisted of “handling” students. I think this makes so much sense. Many of my own teachers are the product of this way of thinking. One of my high school English teachers did not care what we did as long as we did the worksheets, stayed in the classroom, and were good when the principal game. We were handled so that we never complained about that class. I was not in love with English because of my high school experience. Actually, the only reason I came to the English department in college is because I spent more than 85% of my childhood with my nose in a book and I wanted to be able to share that love with others.

love reading

Before I get back to the book, I need to address the concept of “spider webbing.” In my literary criticism class, we are discussing feminist theories. One theory we learned about was how the female brain functions. According to this professor’s research, a woman’s brain goes from A to A1 to A2 to A3 then to B then B1 etc… all the way to the point trying to be made. In short, female brains go through several different thoughts before ending at the point. Male brains, according to this same research, go from A to B to C etc… until they get to the point. Any and all of my blogs can be used as evidence for this theory.

So after that little blurb, back to the book from the beginning.

The “Table of Contents” is actually an alphabetical list of the 101 behaviors addressed in the book. Just by reading the “Table of Contents,” you will understand what I mean when I say this book is extremely politically incorrect.

Here are pictures of the Table of Contents:

Image

 

My “favorites” from this page include:The Apple Polisher, The Alibier (which different than the Alibi Maker?), The Blabbermouth, The Chiseler, The Crier(s), and The Failer. 

Image

My “favorites” from this page: The Follower, The Hider, The ‘Idiot’ Syndrome, The Lewd, The Lover, The Noncompleter with Grand Plans, and the Rabble Rouser. (Notice a pattern in this blog?)

Image

Just a few “favorites” on this one: The Tramp, The Vindictive, The Underachiever, The Spoiled Darling, The Sleeper, and The Snoop.

I think the way this book is set up and the way it coaches teachers to instruct explains a lot of teacher’s methods. Many behaviors in this book are addressed in stereotypical fashion with no real sense of getting to know the individual student. I just feel it all makes sense! 

In other news, I need to step up my teaching game because I did not do well in my presentation of a lesson today. So to cheer myself and everyone else up:

I might have died for a minute from all the laughter. HAHAHA Oh my gosh! WATCH IT!

Leave a Reply

