“I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I don’t know the answer” — Douglas Adams

Thank you to goodreads.com for helping me find the perfect title for this week’s blog post; without your handy quotes section, I would have probably had to “Google.” —- When did Google become a verb? I think I like it, but when did that happen? 

As you might have guessed, this blog post contains my four (4) questions (?). This blog also contains reflections from my trip to Pine Ridge on the struggle bus. Continue reading to learn what else is in this blog. 

My four questions:

1. Just how much trouble am I going to be in for consoling my students with hugs? I am a hugger. I like to have hugs when I need extra loved. I love to give hugs to console people. I am going to struggle with this boundary that everyone tells me is not able to be crossed without potentially losing my job. Is this probably a silly question? Yes. Do I really want to know this answer though? Yes. (Don’t judge me.)

Honestly, I didn’t even know this song existed before I “Googled” “Don’t Judge Me.” He probably should hope no one judged him on this song/ video. (No offense or anything)

2. How do we deal with “that” kid or “those” kids that just won’t? “Those” kids that won’t do anything, won’t disrupt others, won’t care… I struggle with this concept because I think that students should all want to be there and therefore should want to be in my class, but the kids who “won’t” actually still exist. (Weird, eh?) <sarcasm

was that sarcasm??

I love Sheldon!

3. Are reading and writing workshop-style classrooms really common (at all?) in the traditional public school system, or has this area just not really caught onto it yet? We went to Pine Ridge, SD today for some multicultural/ human relations lessons. I visited the Wolf Creek schools and thoroughly enjoyed the alternative school there. Each classroom had its own classroom library of sorts. Each classroom also works as workshops in that each student works at his or her own pace and each student worked on a project in which he or she was interested. I have always been intrigued by alternative schools, but I think I could enjoy working in a small one.

I like it.

While we are on the topic of the field trip, I would like to add that I did not feel well on this trip and I was stuck on the struggle bus. I was so exquisitely happy to find out that we would be getting home an hour ahead of time. Also, I feel badly for unloved animals and for senselessly ignorant humans. Also, also, cemeteries are awkward, depressing, and slightly interesting to make part of the field trip. 

4. What if I am not a good teacher? What if I fail? Yes, I know, these are technically two questions, but they are related so they count as one. (My blog. My rules.) These are serious questions I have about my future as an educator. I do not want to fail my students and I do want to be a good teacher, but what if I just suck. What then?

Two sentiments on this topic:

failure-success

and

How to Become a Total Failure - The ten rules of highly unsucessful people - No Success Yes, there’s a link: http://tenwaystofail.com/

 

So there are my four(4) questions(?). I do not know if I have more or if I don’t, but I do know that I am becoming increasingly impatient to get my placements and finally get out into the field. 

Thank you for sticking with me to the end of this blog, dear reader. I appreciate your efforts and want to reward you with a mini dance party….

of Kittens!!!

and Ninja-cats!

I need to see if there is a “Cats in the Classroom” session at the NCTE Convention. If there isn’t one now, there should be one soon. 

hope

 Allergies=dark world in this case. 

3 thoughts on ““I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I don’t know the answer” — Douglas Adams

  1. Most of the teachers I follow on Twitter have workshop classrooms! I think that’s one big key: find teachers elsewhere who are doing the things you want to do, and learn from them and share with them through your Personal Learning Network. I have A LOT to say about your questions. We’ll talk in class, and I’ll probably blog, and also probably come back here and post another response!

  2. “My blog. My rules.” I love this, Reba! This was such a fun blog to read. I agree that NCTE should have at least one session dealing with cats as classroom pets. Also, thanks for the kitten dance. Day. Made.

  3. I guess my host sister was a bit of the “the kid that wouldn’t.” She told her P.E. teacher straight up that no, she would not jump rope anymore because her heart hurt a little bit and then went and sat down. She got a D and she doesn’t understand why. I don’t know how to deal with this kind of situation. The student who just says “no” and won’t budge. I’m really interested to learn the answer. If there is one….

Leave a Reply

