“Dead” lines

It has taken me almost a whole week just to figure out how I feel about this whole deadline issue. I think we have to work with our classroom to create what works best for our students. Dr. Ellington’s method worked well for her students, but I talked to a teacher in schools today and she said that would not work well for her students. I can work with this information. I think the “hunt down” method can be fantastic for the right students at the right time. I think deadlines are important for many students’ success. However, in the end, it comes back to what each student needs to be successful. Can’t I have “secret” side deals for when students need the help?

Maybe the reason it took me so long to figure this out is because of the insane amount of things due for me in the next two weeks. Will I get my work done? Yes. Will it be the most thorough? Maybe not, but that’s okay because at least I will have a great start on things that can be developed into something more beautiful later. I think my current situation may have an influence on how I set up my classroom. I would like to help my students not be zombies, but I just fear that what I do might not make any difference at all and end dream as a teacher will be shattered. I just want to make a difference and help my students, but I fear that I will miss many opportunities to help. 

Courtesy of AMC's The Walking Dead.

I feel these quotes represent all that I am feeling right now in life: 

“There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” — Paulo Coelho (The Alchemist) 

“I am learning all the time. My tombstone will be my diploma.” — Eartha Kitt

Fear is  Liar

3 thoughts on ““Dead” lines

  1. I had a piano teacher who always asked me how far would I go if I knew I could not fail. I never really had an answer because my fear of failure got in the way. I think I will never not be afraid of failure, of being incorrect, but I think I’m getting better at dealing with it. So, you’re not alone in this.

    I also really liked your idea of working with each class to come up with a policy that worked with them. I don’t think it fits in the category of “let’s make a list of rules” that we all know the answer to. It’s a great way to get personal with your students and get to know them.

  2. This is a great blog, Rebs. Maybe it’s because I’m a freak of nature and have 3 planners, but I’m a firm believe in deadlines. I don’t think I would have the time or energy to chase and hunt down my students that had missing work. I like how this is called “dead” lines”…I don’t want my students to be zombies and go through the motions even though implement deadlines. I just want them to have an achievable target in mind!

  3. It’s also useful to think about how many deadlines in school are entirely arbitrary and have nothing to do with the time that actual learning requires. Teachers talk a lot about training students for the workplace, but the qualities they seem to try to inculcate focus more on compliance than anything else. I have worked in environments where I figured out my own deadlines based on the requirements of the project I was doing–or, even more often, I collaborated with others to figure out the deadline for the project.

Leave a Reply

