Be B.O.R.E.D. !!

I will encourage my students to be B.O.R.E.D. sounds crazy, right? Please allow me to explain.

I have been reading a lot of material on classroom management, philosophies, education, and teaching. I have been reading many blogs by educators around the world. One blog that really struck home was “My 5 Words” by Garnet Hillman.  http://bit.ly/13BOSwe In this blog, Garnet lists and explains 5 words that describe her classroom. I came up with my own five words. I thought I was set, but then I read another two blogs about classrooms and behaviors of students. One of the blogs was about Kindergarten and how his only rule is to “be brave” in his classroom. http://bit.ly/13r31MK I really really liked the idea of encouraging my students to be brave. Then there was another blog that just really made my whole day. http://bit.ly/QuRSp3 The blog is called “Behavior Management: not systems, but relationships.” This blog  reminded me of the importance of incorporating each individual into my plans for how I manage my classroom. This impacted me greatly because I usually think about managing the class as a whole, but this blog reminded me to think of each student when managing my classroom. Also, in this blog, I liked how she brought attention to the difference between disciplining a student because his/her behavior was unacceptable and disciplining a student because his/her behavior was annoying. I will have to keep that in mind for later.  

  

Image from  http://www.elcajonneighbors.org/blogs.html

Without further ado, here are my 5 words for my class and to encourage my students. 

Be:

Brave: My students will be encouraged to put themselves out on a line (as the cliche goes). I will encourage my students to challenge themselves and to share when they might not normally share.

Open-minded: I will encourage my students to be open-minded about what they learn. Also, I will encourage my students to be open-minded about what they hear, read, or examine in my classroom whether from me or their peers.

Respectful: My students will show respect to themselves, their peers, and me.

Excellent: I will encourage my students to be excellent and all that comes with being excellent. When I apply this to my classroom, I will allow the students to determine what it means to them to be excellent. (I might throw a few things in there, just in case.)

Driven: My students will be encouraged to strive toward their goals and dreams. I will encourage my students to set a goal and begin working toward it. Furthermore, my students will encouraged to reflect and add to their goal(s). 

As a disclaimer, these words will most likely evolve and change as I evolve and change as a teacher. Perhaps I will keep you all posted. 

  

Image from http://robsrangers.blogspot.com/2013/06/im-so-bored.html

 

Crazy? Crazy for cats! 

 

Image from http://iwastesomuchtime.com/on/?i=37567 

This video is a good giggle! 

3 thoughts on “Be B.O.R.E.D. !!

  1. I really liked how you fit your five words into another word, and “bored” is such a great word. When you tell your students that you want them all to be bored in your class, I bet you will get lots of funny looks. But really, this is such a good way for students to remember what you want. Very creative!

  2. Ya Rebs! This is great. I totally stole your idea because I thought it was very innovative and will definitely capture your students attention. I think your most important concept of being bored is “excellence”. That is a huge part of being a teacher; you are the students best motivator. Make them strive for excellence; don’t settle for anything less!
    Also. I love cats.

Leave a Reply

